Federated States of Micronesia State of Chuuk State of Kosrae State of Pohnpei State of Yap
Legal Information System of the FSM - Home Page
FSM National Gov't.

State of Chuuk

State of Kosrae

State of Pohnpei
  • Constitution
  • Code
  • State Court Decisions
  • State Court Rules
  • Regulations

    State of Yap

    Compact of Free Association

    Other Gov't. Authority Documents

    Search the LIS web site

    Related Links

    Contact the LIS Project


         The State of Pohnpei is one of the four states that make up the Federated States of Micronesia, along with the states of Chuuk, Kosrae, and Yap.  Pohnpei lies just east of Kosrae, which is the eastern-most island in the FSM.
         Pohnpei island is the biggest island in the FSM and is circular in shape.  Pohnpei has lush tropical forests, and beautiful waterfalls and rivers.  It's famous landmarks are Sokehs Rock and the ancient ruins of Nan Madol.  It has abundant marine resources especially in its outlying atolls.
         Pohnpei State has its own constitutional government with three co-equal branches of government consisting of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches.  The Pohnpei Constitution also upholds, respects, and protects the customs and traditions of the traditional kingdoms of Pohnpei.  See, Art. 5 of the Pohnpei Constitution.
         The Executive Branch is headed by a Governor and Lt. Governor who appoint their own cabinet members and are primarily responsible for executing the laws and administering state government services.  See, Art. 9 of the Pohnpei Constitution.
         The legislative or law making power of the state is vested in the Pohnpei Legislature whose primary responsibility is to make the law and create state government  programs.  The Legislature is composed of 23 Senators who are elected by the voters of the electoral districts of Kapingamarangi, Mwokil, Ngetik, Nukuoro, Pingelap, Kolonia Town, Net, Uh, Kitti, Madolenihmw, Sokehs. See, Art. 8 of the Pohnpei Constitution.
         The judicial power of the State is vested in the Pohnpei State Court and such inferior courts as may be created by law.  The judiciary interprets the constitution and laws of the state.  See, Art. 10 of the Pohnpei Constitution.

         The state government leaders and some key staff are as follows:
    Governor:   Hon. Marcello K. Peterson
    Lt. Governor:   Hon. Joseph Saimon
    Special Assistant:  Hon. Valerio Hallens
    Attorney General:   Hon. Judah Johnny
    Assistant Attorney Generals:
          Mona Lisa Pangelinan, Esq.
    Director (Dir.), Education:   Hon. Joseph Villazon
    Dir., Health [Acting]:   Hon. Paulino Rosario
    Dir., Land & Natural Resources:   Hon. Pius Hadley
    Dir., Public Safety:   Hon. Lucas Carlos
    Dir., Treasury & Admin.:  Acting Director Christina Elnei
    Speaker, Pohnpei Legislature:   Hon. Fernando Scaliem
    Vice Speaker, Pohnpei Legislature:   Hon. Francisco Ioanis
    Floor Leader:   Hon. Nixon Soram
    Legislative Clerk:  Charles Johnson
    Legislative Counsel:  Tom Beckmann, Esq.
    State Supreme Court Chief Justice:   Hon. Benjamin F. Rodriguez
    Associate Justices:
          Hon. Nelson A. Joseph
          Hon. Nickontro Johnny
          Hon. Mayceleen David
    Legal Counsel:  
    Chief Clerk of Courts [Acting]:  Kiomy Albert
    Court of Land Tenure
        Principal Judge:  Hon. Tadasy Yamaguchi
        Associate Judges:
              Hon. Neives G. Pelep
              Hon. Gusto Ligor
        Administrative Officer: 
    Other Agencies/Organizations
    Asst. Public Defender:  Timoci Romanu
    MLSC, Dir. Atty.: Salomon M. Saimon, Esq.
    MLSC, Staff Atty.: Danally Daniel, Esq.
    Public Auditor:  Hon. Ihlen Joseph 

    For more visitor information on Pohnpei visit the Pohnpei page on the FSM Visitors Board web site.