Federated States of Micronesia State of Chuuk State of Kosrae State of Pohnpei State of Yap
Legal Information System of the FSM - Home Page
FSM National Gov't.

State of Chuuk

State of Kosrae

State of Pohnpei

State of Yap
  • Constitution
  • Code
  • State Court Decisions
  • State Court Rules
  • Regulations

    Compact of Free Association

    Other Gov't. Authority Documents

    Search the LIS web site

    Related Links

    Contact the LIS Project


         The State of Yap is one of the four states that make up the Federated States of Micronesia, along with the states of Pohnpei, Chuuk and Kosrae.  Yap is the Western-most island in the FSM, located about midway between Guam and Palau.

         Yap is comprised of the main islands of Yap, Gagil, Tomil, and Rumung.  Yap State stretches eastward, for another 1,200 or so kilometers and includes another 134 outer islands, most of them low-lying atolls.

         The Yapese were seafaring people who sailed vast distances over the Pacific.  Even in recent times, canoes from Yap have sailed to the Marianas, Okinawa, and Palau.  The trip to Palau was made to re-enact the quarrying of stone money.  In centuries past, Yapese made the life-threatening 1000 kilometer round trip voyage to Palau's Rock Islands to quarry the now famous stone money. Yap is probably best known for this stone money - huge disks of crytalline stone.  These stone disks measure up to two meters in diameter, and weigh as much as four tons, making them the world's largest currency.

         Yap State has its own constitutional government with three co-equal branches of government consisting of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches.  Yap also has traditional leaders that serve in the Council of Pilung and the Council of Tamol which perform functions concerning tradition and custom.  See Art. III of the Yap State Constitution .

         The Executive Branch is headed by a Govenor and a Lt. Governor and they are primarily resposible for executing the laws and administering state government services.  See Art. VI of the Yap State Constitution.

          The legislative power of the State is vested in the Legislature. Such power extends to all rightful subjects of legislation not inconsistent with the Yap Constitution.  The Legislature is composed of ten members, who shall be elected by the qualified voters of their respective election districts.  See Art. V of the Yap State Constitution.

         The judicial power of the State is vested in its State Court, and other courts as may be created by law.  The State Court is the highest court of the State and consists of a Chief Justice and two Associate Justices.  The number of Associate Justices may be increased by law upon the request of the State Court.  Retired justices may serve temporarily on the State Court at the request of the Chief Justice.  See Art. VII of the Yap State Constitution.

         The state government leaders and some key staff are as follows:
    Executive Branch
    Governor: Hon. Henry S. Falan
    Lt. Governor: Hon. Jesse J. Salalu
    Attorney General: [VACANT]
    Chief, Division of Public Safety: Mr. Daniel G. Ramngen
    Director, Administrative Services: Mr. Gabriel Ramoloilug
    Director, Planning & Budget: Mr. Francis Itimai
    Director, Department of Resources & Development: Ms. Arlene S. Chugen
    Director, Youth & Civic Affairs: Mr. Constantine Yowblaw
    Director, Department of Education: Mrs. Pamela Legdesog
    Director, Department of Public Works & Transportation: Mr. Jonathan Marmar
    Director, Department of Health Services: Dr. Aileen Tareg

    Legislature Branch
    Speaker: Hon. Vincent A. Figir
    Vice Speaker: Hon. John J. Masiwemai
    Floor Leader: Hon. Jerry G. Fagolimul
    Chairman of Committe on Finance: Hon. Nicholas Figirlaarwon
    Vice Chairman of Committe on Finance: Hon. Kensley Ikosia
    Chairman of Committe on Health & Welfare: Hon. Theodore (Ted) Rutun
    Vice Chairman of Committe on Health & Welfare: Hon. Jesse Raglmar-Subolmar
    Chairman of Committe on Resources, Education & Development: Hon. Joseph Giliko'
    Vice Chairman of Committe on Resources, Education & Development: Hon. John Mafel
    Other Members: Hon. Joseph B. Tiuchemal
    Chief Clerk: Mrs. Dee N. Libian
    Assistant Chief Clerk: Mr. Ben Chosmal
    Budget Officer: Ms. Elaine T. Chugen
    Administrative Secretary: Ms. Elizabeth Laayow
    Legislative Counsel: Leelkan Dabchuren, Esq.
    Assistant Legislative Counsel: Ms. Genevieve M. Mangefel

    Judiciary Branch
    Chief Justice: Hon. Cyprian Manmaw
    Associate Justice: Hon. Jesse Torwan
    Hon. Jonathan M. Tun
    Yap State Court Counsel: Seema Shaw, Esq.
    Clerk of Court: Ms. Julianne Giley
    Court Administrator: Mr. Libuw Pongliyab

    Traditional Leaders
    Chairman, Council of Pilung: Hon. Bruno Tharngan
    Chairman, Council of Tamol: Hon. Ramon Peyal

    Other Agencies/Organizations
    Public Defender: [VACANT]
    MLSC, Dir. Attorney: John T. Mootmag, Esq.
    Director, Yap Environmental Protection Agency: Ms. Christina Fillmed
    Director, Yap Community Action Program: Mr. Sabino Sauchomal
    Director, Yap Investment Trust: Ms. Patricia D. Moonfel
    Director, Yap Fishing Authority: Mr. Paul Ayin
    Director, Yap State Public Service Corporation: Mr. Faustino Yangmog
    Director, Yap State Public Library: Ms. Erica Ruepin
    Director, Yap Visitors Authority: Mr. Don Evans
    Director, Yap Sports Council Office: Mr. Lawrence Uwelur