Territory of Micronesia

     Section 1.  The territory of the Federated States of Micronesia is comprised of the Districts of the Micronesian archipelago that ratify this Constitution.  Unless limited by international treaty obligations assumed by the Federated States of Micronesia, or by its own act, the waters connecting the islands of the archipelago are internal waters regardless of dimensions, and jurisdiction extends to a marine space of 200 miles measured outward from appropriate baselines, the seabed, subsoil, water column, insular or continental shelves, airspace over land and water, and any other territory or waters belonging to Micronesia by historic right, custom, or legal title.

      Section 2.  Each state is comprised of the islands of each District as defined by laws in effect immediately prior to the effective date of this Constitution.  A marine boundary between adjacent states is determined by law, applying the principle of equidistance.  State boundaries may be changed by Congress with the consent of the state legislatures involved.

     Section 3.  Territory may be added to the Federated States of Micronesia upon approval of Congress, and by vote of the inhabitants of the area, if any, and by vote of the people of the Federated States of Micronesia.  If the territory is to become part of an existing state, approval of the state legislature is required.

     Section 4.  New states may be formed and admitted by law, subject to the same rights, duties, and obligations as provided for in this Constitution.