Federated States of Micronesia State of Chuuk State of Kosrae State of Pohnpei State of Yap
Legal Information System of the FSM - Home Page
FSM National Gov't.

State of Chuuk
  • Constitution
  • Code
  • State Court Decisions
  • State Court Rules
  • Regulations
  • Laws

  • State of Kosrae

    State of Pohnpei

    State of Yap

    Other Gov't. Authority Documents

    Search the LIS web site

    Related Links

    Contact the LIS Project


         The State of Chuuk is one of the four states that make up the Federated States of of Micronesia, along with the states of Kosrae, Pohnpei, and Yap.  Chuuk is the state with the largest population with about 53,000 people, with more than 40,000 of those living on the larger islands in the main lagoon.
         Chuuk is located about 1,000 kilometers southeast of Guam.  Chuuk consists of 11 high mangrove-fringed islands in the Chuuk lagoon, and a series of 14 outlying atolls and low islands surrounding the lagoon.  The main islands, Weno, Tonoas, Uman, and Fefan are located in the main lagoon.
         Chuuk lagoon is one of the world's best and most well known wreck diving sites, as there were dozens of Japanese warships and aircraft sunk in the lagoon during World War II.
         Chuuk State has its own constitutional government with three co-equal branches of government consisting of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches.
        The Governor and Lieutenant Governor are the leaders of the Executive Branch and have the primary duty of executing the laws and administering state government services.  See, Art. VI of the Chuuk Constitution.
         The legislative or law making power of the state is vested in the Legislature, which consists of two houses, the Senate and the House of Representatives.  This power extends to all rightful subjects of legislation not inconsistent with the Chuuk Constitution or the Constitution of the Federated States of Micronesia.
         The Senate consists of 10 members, with the President of the Senate as its highest officer.  The House of Representatives consists of 28 members, with the Speaker as it's highest officer. See, Art. V of the Chuuk Constitution.
        The Chuuk State Supreme Court has constitutional jurisdiction to review the actions of any state administrative agency, and decide all relevant questions of law, interpret constitutional and statutory provisions and determine the meaning or applicability of the terms of an agency action.  See, Art. VII of the Chuuk Constitution.
         The top state leaders and some key staff are as follows:
    Executive Branch
    Governor: Hon. Alexander R. Narruhn
    Lt. Governor: Hon. Mekeioshy William
    Chief of Staff: Ms. Myjolynne M. Kim
    Special Assistance, Legislative Affairs: Mr. Tracy Meter
    Spec. Asst., Soc. Affairs: VACANT
    Attorney General: Mohammed Kutty, Esq.
    Director, Administrative Services: Hon. Jonas Paul
    Director, Agriculture: Hon. Mondel Tim
    Director, Education: Hon. Sermy Namelo
    Deputy Director, Education: Mr. Jason Reyong
    Director, Health Services: Dr. Bosco Buliche
    Deputy Director, Health Services: Mr. Anthony Mori
    Director, Transportation/Public Works: Hon. Tos Nakayama
    Deputy Director, Transportation/Public Works: Mr. Mori Mori
    Director, Marine Resources: Mr. Kirisos Victus
    Deputy Director, Marine Resources: Mr. Binasto Ruben
    Director, Public Safety: Mr. Bia Nanoto
    Deputy Director, Public Safety: Mr. David Welle
    Director, Disaster Office: Mr. Justin Fritz
    Election Commission: Mr. Yasen Herry
    Land Commission: Mr. Anselmo Daniel
    Visitors Authority: Mr. Douglas Marar
    Director, Recreation Office: Mr. Anthony Baluay
    Chairman, COVID-19 Task Force: Dr. Dorina Reselap

    Legislature Branch
    President, Senate: Hon. Arno H. Kony
    Vice President, Senate: Hon. Wisney Nakayama
    Floor Leader: Hon. Atanasio Hetiback
    Region No.1 Northern Namoneas
    Hon. Wisney Nakayama
    Hon.Sekap Esah
    Region No.2 Southern Namoneas
    Hon. Harris Frain, Chairman, J&GO Committee:
    Hon. Nelson Stephen
    Region No.3 Faichuk
    Hon. Arno Kony
    Hon. Esly Kanto
    Region No.4 Mortlocks
    Hon. Julio Marar, Chairman Finance Committee
    Hon. Andrel Cheche Yamamoto, Chairman R & D Committee
    Region No.5 Northwest
    Hon. Matthias Kuor, Chairman, Health, Education & Welfare Committee:
    Hon. Atanasio Hetiback
    Speaker: Hon. Lester Danny Mersai
    Vice Speaker: Hon. Asaichy Sana
    Floor Leader: Hon. Wayne Olap
    Representative District No. 1 Northern Namoneas Region (Weno)
    Hon. Johnny Robert
    Hon. Keswick Mathus
    Hon. Jessy Petewen William
    Hon. Larry Uehara
    Hon. Junior Nomau
    Representative District No. 2 Southern Namoneas Region (Tonoas)
    Hon. Hadley Ampon Francis
    Representative District No. 3
    Hon. Marciso Sebastian
    Hon. Raymond Otoko
    Hon. Lester Danny Mersai
    Representative District No. 4
    Hon. Ignacio Santos
    Hon. Happy Refit
    Representative District No. 5 Nomwunsefo Region
    Hon. Lukas Toyo Mori
    Hon. Greg Refalopei
    Representative District No. 6 PPO Region
    Hon. Kenruo Nero
    Hon. Enepo Mokut
    Representative District No. 7 Faichuk Region (Tol)
    Hon. Karson Billy
    Hon. Junior Clemente
    Hon. Pipiri Kasmino Hauk
    Representative District No. 8 Upper Mortlocks (Lukeisel)
    Hon. Asaichy Sana
    Hon. Richiosy Pangas Chipen
    Representative District No. 9 Mid Mortlocks
    Hon. Kipper Lippwe
    Hon. Wayne Olap
    Representative District No. 10 Lower Mortlocks
    Hon. Inos Walter
    Hon. Rerat William
    Representative District No. 11 Paafeng
    Hon. Willie Weita
    Representative District No. 12 Weito
    Hon. Celes Kaliga
    Representative District No. 13 Paatiw
    Hon. Andrew May
    Legislative Counsel: Mr. Ken Uehara
    Chief Clerk, Senate: [VACANT]
    Chief Clerk House Representative: Mrs. Merida Ueda

    Judiciary Branch
    Chief Justice: Hon. Jayson Robert
    Associate Justices: Hon. Kerio D.Wallaby
    Hon. Kachie Sana Eram
    Director of Administration: Mr. Isauo Kuena
    Chief Clerk of Courts: Ms. Joanne Nakamura
    Appellate Clerk of Courts: Mr. Peterson Chutin
    State Sup. Ct. Attorney: Mr. Lucas Padegimas, Esq.

    Other Agencies/Organizations
    Public Defender: Bethwel O'Sonis, Esq.
    MLSC, Directing Attorney: Josef Hart Rold, Esq.
    MLSC, Trial Counselors: Mr. Pastor Suzuki
    Mr. Fanes Meika
    Ms. Jane Iwo
    Mr. Pastor Suzuki
    Public Auditor:
    Director of EPA: Bradfort G. Mori
    CEO/General Manager CPUC: Mr. Kasio Kembo Mida Jr.